Dream Board & Beyond

IMG_8873

I made my first dream board this past January in the beginning stages of what I have come to fondly regard as my quarter-life crisis. And I can confidently say that I am a HUGE fan of this inspirational tool. True to form, I have to admit I went a little bit overboard, but I can’t help it! I have a strange obsession with the aesthetics of magazine clippings, pensive quotes, and artfully crafted copy that resonate with me and my life. I admire the beauty of the truths that words can speak to the heart because my past has made me mindful of the inverse.  Words can be a destructive force against the spirit, too. The Bible gently reminds us of the raw power of the words we choose to use many times over, but my favorite version of this truth is found in Proverbs 18:21, “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.”

Power of death and life. 

Wow. It never fails to amaze and humble me that the Bible can use one sentence, one verse, to profoundly impact our perspective. Are my words a gift of life to others in my day or a kiss of death? Do I succumb to my emotions in the heat of my trivial frustrations or do I exemplify self-discipline and choose my words more wisely? Am I willing to pause to ask God for His grace and wisdom before I react on impulse?

Am I a slave to my emotions or do I live in the freedom of God’s promises?

As I look across my room at my dream board perched atop my bookshelf, a particular quote jumps out at me: “Being uniquely you is truly your one obligation on the planet.”

Ladies, we are the Queens of Comparison. The Debbie Doubters. It would seem sometimes we are the cheerleaders of our fears. Why? Why do we willingly submit ourselves to such torture? Because somewhere along the way lies from others, or even ourselves, made their way into our hearts and set up camp. I can’t. I’m not smart enough. I’m not talented enough. I’m not tall enough. I don’t measure up. I’m only mediocre. I’m not like her.

STOP!

Here is all you need to know. 1) You are enough because God says you are and God is never wrong. 2) You don’t have to be like anyone else because God made you exactly the way you are for a specific purpose only you can fulfill. No one else can fulfill your God-given destiny, so why on earth would you want to live out someone else’s when yours is designed by God exactly, perfectly, precisely just for you and no one else!

Words can really affect us, can’t they? I think sometimes we discount the impact of what we allow to come out of our mouths and how we enable the words of others to have authority in our lives. Words are powerful and profound. To quote Holley Gerth, “Sticks and stones could break her bones, but it’s words that have broken her heart.

If you haven’t already, put Holley Gerth on your reading list. I read two of her books, You’re Already Amazing and its complement You’re Made for a God-Sized Dream, this summer when I moved home to be with my mom through her breast cancer treatment and it was like she was reaching through the pages to hold my hand and walk through the steps of faith I needed to be taking. Her books were absolutely instrumental in helping get to the place I am at today in my faith and in my life. And this praise is completely unsolicited BTW. Her words will move you in all the right directions.

It is easy to stumbled and become ensnared in the traps of the lies, doubts, and fears in our lives. So, why not establish some safe guards? After all, God tells us, “Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life.” I keep a list of truths in two places in my room, my closet and my bathroom, of who God says I am in Christ. I also have Joyce Meyer’s version of this list on my phone’s home screen. And I keep my dream board, which is covered in inspirational quotes, words, and images, where I can see it ever single day! I love to make “scripture keepers” with index card rings and I try to keep it with me in my purse wherever I go. I have two mason jars on my bookshelf, one for “Blessings” and one for “Prayers”, and I write little notes and drop them in the jar from time to time. Equip yourself with the Truth! Write them on your heart, on your bathroom mirror, on your wallets, on your desk, on your phones. Little notes of joy and truth and love, noteworthy, veering you off the self-destructive path that leads to nowhere.

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

Being uniquely you is truly your one obligation on the planet. Isn’t it true? Each of us called to run our race, the one marked out for us by our Creator. He plucked us out of eternity for our time such as this. Packs our bag with free will and a Divine Instruction Book and sends us on our way to a broken world to shine His light. To love – ourselves included.

Standard

Leave a Reply

